TO:          Area VI Teachers

FROM:    Von G. Peavy

                South Region Agriculture Mechanics Teacher

DATE:    March 24, 2011

RE:         2011 Welding CDE


Attached are the 2011 Area VI Welding Results.


Thanks to all who made the Area VI Welding CDE a great success.  The quality as well as the quantity

 of participation is to be commended!


Congratulations to the First place team from Echols County consisting of Chance Maine,

Cip Lee, Tyler Church, and Tanner Barrett, as well as to their Advisor Hank Majeski.


Congratulations to the following First place winners in each area who will return for the “Top Gun”

Weld-off to be held in the welding lab of the Chambliss Building (AET) on the ABAC campus on

April 21, 2011 at 4:30 p.m.



Area                 Contestant                            Chapter                                  Advisor


Brazing             Tyler Church                        Echols County                       Hank Majeski


SMAW              T.J. Powell                          Berrien County                     James Hunter


GMAW             Brody Matthews                 Bacon County                       Will McAllister


Cutting              Tanner Barrett                    Echols County                       Hank Majeski


Thanks to the Ware County Ag Education Department for once again hosting the event! 


Thanks also to Judges:  Rusty Lee (Airgas of Waycross), Jody Kemp, and Renee’ Smith

Von G. Peavy
South Region
Area Mechanics Teacher
Georgia Department of Education
Office of Agricultural Education
ABAC 34  2802 Moore Highway
Tifton, GA    31794
Phone: 229-386-3868
Fax: 229-391-6838
e-mail: [log in to unmask]