This is a excerpt of an email Justin Sealy sent out to the south region
teachers about proficiency awards for the upcoming year.  I thought it had
some valuable information in it and wanted to pass it along.

There are 49 sponsored categories for this year. Please be aware of the
following changes to the proficiency award categories:****


   - Goat Production has been added as a new category for 2011-2012;
   meaning Goat SAEs should no longer be entered in the Specialty Animal
   - Floriculture is NO LONGER a category *(NOTE: projects that would have
   been entered in the Floriculture category should consider the Agricultural
   Sales or Diversified Horticulture categories this year.)*****
   - 3 new Agriscience Research categories are available (Animal Systems,
   Plant Systems, and Integrated Systems) Require New Proficiency App.
   - Diversified Livestock Production is now one category; Entrepreneurship
   and Placement have been combined****
   - Veterinary Medicine is now named Veterinary Science****

Please remember that the proficiency award applications can be downloaded
from the National FFA website From
the site, look on the far right under the *Applications & Forms* heading.
You will see a Placement application, an Entrepreneurship application, and
the new Agriscience Research application. Open the appropriate application
type (placement, entrepreneurship, research) and you will have a drop down
menu to select the specific category.****


****For those of you using the AET, that system does match up with the
National FFA proficiency applications, so you can download and complete
each proficiency application from the AET.*

** **

*A few other reminders about proficiency awards for this year…..*

   - Once a student has been a state winner in a proficiency award area,
   regardless of their national placing, they are *not eligible* to enter
   that category again.  ****
   - All records (hours, finances, skills, competencies, etc…) *must end on
   December 31, 2011*, for this year’s applications. DO NOT put anything
   from 2012 on this year’s applications!****
   - There was much talk of new proficiency award applications, however,
   the new applications for all existing technical categories have been
   delayed. For 2011-2012, proficiency award applications will be the same
   format as they have been. The exception are the 3 new Agriscience Research
   - All 3 new Agriscience Research categories will use a new application
   format; and those applications should be downloaded separately from the
   national website using the link above.****
   - Please take time to review the attached category descriptions very
   carefully. Your students do a lot of work with their SAE. It is a shame
   when they are entered in the wrong category and are disqualified. Some SAEs
   are unique, and some categories can seem unclear, so if you’re not sure,
   please ask!****
   - Proficiency Award applications are due on *February 15, 2012 by 5pm*.
   This is not a postmarked date. Hard copies must be submitted for credit and
   to be judged.  ****

For proficiency award areas, descriptions, and applications, please see the
National FFA website.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

(original message sent by Ben Lastly, November 2, 2011)

John Allen Bailey
Central Region Forestry Teacher
711 Kite Hwy.
Swainsboro, GA  30401