The State Forestry CDE was held Wednesday, May 2, 2012, at the Swainsboro/Emanuel County Recreation Complex.  There were 18 Senior and 12 Junior teams competing for State honors.  Congratulations to all 293 FFA members that participated in the career develop events.  The State Forestry CDE kicks off the week long festivities of the Pine Tree Festival.  The Pine Tree Festival gives each 1st place winner in each of the forestry events a $50.00 savings bond.  Other sponsors include CSX Transportation and Meek's Tree Farm.  The Georgia Forestry Commission and Southeastern Technical College or also great partners with Ag Education in conducting these CDES.

Thank you to Mr. John Allen Bailey, Mr. Justin Sealy and Mr. Jerry Taylor for coordinating the CDE.

The results are as follows:

Junior Division
1st Place Team  - Treutlen High - Barry Norris, Advisor
Team members include Amber Parks, Taylor McCoy, Breanna Wright, Morgan Page, Chase Giles, Braswell Walraven, Mallory Cauley, Nathan McCoy, Kayla Page and CeJay Heath.

2nd Place Team - Bleckley County - Doyle Floyd, Advisor
3rd Place Team - Appling Middle - Ricky Barnes, Advisore

Senior Division
1st Pace Team - Bleckley County - Doyle Floyd, Advisor
Team members include Megan Dopson, Eli Belflower, Evan Bennett, Darren Crews, Jessica Hess, Spencer Kirkpatrick, Brooks Jones, Jon Googe, Gabe Outlaw, Luke Moseley and Jessica Sewell

2nd Place Team - Banks County - Kipp Jackson, Advisor
3rd Place Team - Treutlen High - Barry Norris, Advisor

Good Luck to Bleckley County as they prepare for the National Forestry CDE to be held at the National FFA Convention this fall.

A complete list of score is attached.

Ben Lastly
Executive Secretary
Georgia FFA Association
316 Poultry Science - UGA
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: (706) 552-4456
Fax: (706) 552-4458