Congratulations to the students who participated in the Area 2 Ag. Mechanics CDE yesterday at Oglethorpe County High School. Special thanks to Mr Rob Jackson and Mr. Travis Sertich for hosting and helping to conduct the event. I'd also like to thank Mr. Dan Bennett and Mr. Sonny Turner from Walton EMC, Mr. Jeff Paul from Rayle EMC, Mr. Gary Farmer retired Agricultural Educator and AAVIM Director, Mr. Stan Whitsit retired Agriculture teacher, Mr. Charles Hillsman, UGA Student Josh Daniel, UGA student Elizabeth Arnold, Area Officer - Addie Thomason, Area Officer - Trey Aycock, Mrs. Christa Steinkamp, Mr. Stan Mitchell and Mr. Jerry Taylor for their help in conducting the event. It would not have been possible without your help.

Several teachers and White county student Vince Mohler helped with tearing down the wiring problems and re-setting them. Their help, persistence and willingness to stay until the last board was wired and the materials were back in the trailer is greatly appreciated. And lastly to the students and their advisors who stayed and helped load everything else in the trailer - good job and thanks!

The top two teams have advanced to the State Ag. Mechanics CDE which will be held in Fort Valley on the campus of Fort Valley State University on Saturday, February 9, 2013.  Rosters have been checked and the results may be considered official. A complete summary of the scores is attached.

Congratulations to:

1st Place Team - Banks County - Advisor, Mr. Scott Wheatley and Team members Travis Cook (High scoring individual), Chris Crump, Calvin Boyer and Austin Whitfield.

2nd Place Team - Madison County - Advisor, Mr. Josh White and Team members Kevin Jones, Judd Stratton, Dusty Guest and Travis Tankersley

Good luck as you represent Area 2 in the State CDE!


Sidney Bell
Area Agricultural Mechanics Teacher
North Region Agricultural Education
209 Four Towers
University of Georgia
Athens, Ga. 30602
Office: (706) 552 - 4464
Cell: (706) 612 - 4789
[log in to unmask]