Teachers and other interested parties:

First of all, many, MANY THANKS to the following individuals for their unwavering support and assistance in the set-up, scoring, and everything else it took to pull off such a great event! Thanks to the Tift County Schools for allowing us to use their STAR farm for the event. It provided for a variety of soil types and a challenging contest for the students. Thanks to Mr. Patrick Atwater, Superintendent, and Mr. Craig Matthews, CTAE Director, Tift County Schools. Ms. Lynne Cook, Ag Ed Teacher, Tift County High School for providing the snacks and helping with the intial contacts. Mr. Carl Nichols, Young Farmer Teacher, Tift County for helping with set-up and providing the drinking water and chairs at the pits. Ms. Sherry Carlson, NRCS Resource Soil Scientist for working up the official keys for all eight pits. Mr. Randy Odom and Mr. Danny Tyson, NRCS Ag Engineers for setting up the slopes for each site. Miss Amanda Miller, UGA-Tifton Ag Ed Student for helping with registration. Mr. Terry Harper, Excavator Operator for Tift County for digging the best dadgum land judging pits ever. Mr. Chad Bass, Mr. Eddie Murray, Mrs. Brittaney Schwing, Mr. Ira Tucker, Mrs. Krista Morris, Mr. James Stodghill, Mr. Quinton Hadsock, and Mr. Michael Kirkland for serving as Pit Monitors. Mr. Josh Drew, Mr. Chris Paulk, Mr. Kenneth Ford, Mr. Mack Ross, Mrs. Brook Hand, Mr. Spencer Highsmith, Mr. David Atkinson, and Mr. Mike Slice for servings as Group Leaders and marching the students all over the huge field. And finally, Mr. Tommy Waldrop for taking time out iof his busy schedule and running the scanner to grade the scorecards. 

The results of the South Region Land Judging CDE are attached. The top two teams in each division in each Area have qualified for the State Land Judging CDE to be held on October 25th at the Stripling Irrigation Park in Camilla. CONGRATULATIONS to:

Area V:

Senior Division
First Place - Tift County, Ms. Lynne Cook, Advisor
    Team members: Christian Sumner, High Individual, Kameron Swain, Kelsey Schlemmer, and David Cheek
Second Place - Irwin County, Mr. Ira Tucker, Advisor
    Team members: Will Schalch, Owen Paulk, Tanner Spell, and Cody Lankford

Junior Division
First Place - NE Tift, Mrs. Brittaney Schwing, Advisor
    Team members: Nicholas Spader, High Individual, Anna Bowen, and Skyler Mikell
Second Place - Irwin County Middle, Mr. Chris Paulk, Advisor
    Team members: Zachary Hulett, Peyton Martin, Gunner Moorman, and Tucker Paulk

Area VI:

Senior Division
First Place - Brantley County, Richard Gill, Advisor
    Team members: Gavin White, Zach Williamson, Josh Barber, and James Allen
Second Place - Lowndes, Quinton Hadsock, Advisor
    Team members: Landon Herring, High Individual, Chance Folsom, Franki Balmer, and Folton Barker

Junior Division
First Place - Coffee Middle, James Stodghill, Advisor
    Team members: Katie Burch, High Individual, Hunter Kimbrough, Dawson Adams, and Leana Atkinson
Second Place - GWC Freshman, Spencer Highsmith, Advisor
    Team members: Kara Vaughn, Ben Musgrove, Alana Atkinson, and Katie Ricketson

CONGRATULATIONS again for the hard work and preparation it took to achieve these results. Continue working hard and looking forward to October 25th!

(NOTE to Area VI teachers: #27 should be marked on Pit #3 worksheet. I caught it after I had scanned the documents.)
Danny Bartlett
Forestry Teacher
South Region Agricultural Education
ABAC 34 - 2802 Moore Highway
Tifton, GA  31793
229/386-3198 (ofc)