Good morning! Congratulations to all of the teams that competed in the Area 2 Ag. Mechanics CDE held yesterday at Oglethorpe County High School. Special thanks to Mr. Travis Sertich and his students for hosting the event and helping with set - up, loading the trailer.  I would also like to thank the following judges for their assistance with set-up and scoring of the events:

Welding - Dusty Bolman from North Georgia Technical College;  Dan Bennett and Doug Rouark  from Walton EMC

Electricity - Jeff Wilkes and Josh Daniel

Small Engines - Sonny Turner and Gary Farmer

Machinery & Equipment - Jeff Paul, Walton EMC

ENR - Brandon Ray

Team Activity - Richard Heard, Rayle EMC & Kent Benson

Written Exam - Tim Coulter, Rayle EMC

Score Runners - Rainey Smith, Oglethorpe County High School & Area 2 FFA Officers Corey Yarbrough and Payton Jackson.   

All scores have been double checked and FFA membership has been verified. The top two teams have earned the right to represent Area 2 in the State Ag. Mechanics CDE which will be held at Madison County High School in conjunction with the State FFA CDE day at UGA on Friday March 23 and Saturday March 24.

1st Place Team - White County High School - Advisor, Mr. Dustin Keener

Rileigh Sanders
Ethan  Blocker
Jacob Partin
Garrett Morgan - High Scoring Individual

2nd Place Team - Oglethorpe County High School - Advisor, Mr. Travis Sertich

Joseph Fraker
Joshua Lindmeir
Robert Webb
Cade Legg

Special thanks to North Georgia Technical College for recognizing the High Scoring Individual in the welding portion of the CDE. Congratulations to Cole Carpenter from Rabun County High School! 

A complete summary of scores is attached.

Sidney Bell
Area Agricultural Mechanics Teacher
North Region Agricultural Education
209 Four Towers
University of Georgia
Athens, Ga. 30602
Office: (706) 552 - 4464
Cell: (706) 612 - 4789
[log in to unmask]