The Area V Welding Contest was a great success yesterday. This event would
not have been successful without the help of the following:

 - Melvin Thompson - Retired South Region Director

 - Jimmy Grubbs - Retired ABAC Instructor

 - Todd Hicks - ABAC AET Professor

  - Von Peavy - Retired Ag Educator and ABAC Professor

The high individual from each process will advance to the South Region
Weld-Off, which will be held at ABAC on Monday March 19th. Check-in will
begin at 1:30 and we will begin welding at 2pm. Remember at the Weld-Off
each student will have to complete all 4 processes (SMAW, GMAW, Brazing, &

*High Individuals *
*SMAW *-  Brandon Jenkins of the Bainbridge FFA, Advisor Mark Lashly
*GMAW* - Jim Stewart of the Irwin Co. FFA, Advisor Chris Paulk
*Brazing* - Grant Matthews of the Tift Co. FFA, Advisor Heath Cross
*Cutting* -  Hunter Jones of the Brooks Co. FFA, Advisor Matt Howell

*Note We did have a tie in the Team Score at 288 points!*  According to the
South Region Welding CDE bulletin:


In the Possibility of a tie in *team score*, the team with the highest
individual *Brazing *score will be declared the winner. In the case of
further ties, the team with the highest individual *Oxy-Acetylene Cutting*
score will be declared the winner; followed by the highest individual *GMAW*
score and finally the highest individual *SMAW *Score.


Flint Helms of the Crisp Co FFA 76 Points - 2nd
Adolfo Iziguirre of the Bainbridge FFA 56 points - 6th


The Top 2 Teams will be recognized at the Area Banquet but do not advance
to any other events.
1st Place Team -   Crisp Co. #1, Advisor Eric Dixon
2nd Place Team -  Bainbridge # 2, Advisor Mark Lashly

Please see attachment for Complete Results


Jerry Stone
Area Agricultural Mechanics Teacher
South Region Agricultural Education
ABAC 34, 2802 Moore Hwy
Tifton, Ga. 30602
Cell: (229) 891 - 6020